William Cowper (1731–1800): Praise for the Fountain Opened

????????????????????????

 

PRAISE FOR THE FOUNTAIN OPENED
(Zechariah, xiii.1)
 

There is a fountain fill’d with blood, 
Drawn from EMMANUEL’S veins; 
And sinners, plunged beneath that flood, 
Lose all their guilty stains. 

The dying thief rejoiced to see 
That fountain in his day; 
And there have I, as vile as he, 
Wash’d all my sins away. 

Dear dying Lamb, Thy precious blood 
Shall never lose its pow’r; 
Till all the ransom’d church of GOD 
Be sav’d, to sin no more. 

E’er since, by faith, I saw the stream 
Thy flowing wounds supply; 
Redeeming love has been my theme, 
And shall be till I die. 

Then in a nobler, sweeter song, 
I’ll sing Thy power to save; 
When this poor lisping stammering tongue 
Lies silent in the grave. 

LORD, I believe Thou hast prepar’d 
(Unworthy tho’ I be) 
For me a blood-bought free reward, 
A golden harp for me! 

‘Tis strung and tun’d for endless years, 
And form’d by pow’r divine; 
To sound in GOD the Father’s ears 
No other name but Thine. 

– William Cowper (1731–1800), Poetical Works, p. 442

Leave a Reply

