The Titus 2:1 Award given to Theologia est doctrina Deo vivendi per Christum

Image

 

Titus 2:1 says, “But as for you, teach what accords with sound doctrine.”

Riley Fraas, pastor of Hope Congregational Church in Bethune, Colorado, USA, is the man behind the High Plains Parson blog and has passed on the Titus 2:1 Award to my blog, Theologia est doctrina Deo vivendi per Christum. A hearty word of thanks goes out to Riley, and I would also recommend his blog to my readers. In order to celebrate, he has asked me to answer the following questions:

1. If you could have dinner with any historical Christian figure, who would it be and why?

There are numerous historical Christian figures I would love to have dinner with – ranging from early church figures to medieval and Reformation theologians and later. My initial answer would’ve been John Calvin, but at this particular moment I reckon I’d like to have dinner with William Tyndale (c. 1494–1536). I would love to sit down with him and hear all about his battles in bringing the Bible to the English people in the vernacular. I own a copy of Tyndale’s 1534 New Testament and I’d love him to read a piece of his own translation to me. Tyndale is definitely one of my heroes.

2. What one burning question would you ask?

I’d ask him, in retrospect, what he would’ve done differently, and why.

3. Where and what would you eat?

Meat. Plenty of it. Perhaps something like smoked ham, with some ale in a tavern in one of the towns/cities he stayed at while he was in continental Europe, such as Wittenberg in Germany. 

4. What was the last Bible verse you read?

Proverbs 21:31, “The horse is made ready for the day of battle, but victory rests with the LORD.”

Now it’s time for me to pass the award on to another blogger – a gentleman whose insights and wisdom I greatly admire. Subscribing to the Three Forms of Unity and thoroughly Reformed in his thought, he is well-versed in theology, knows his church history, and is overall just simply a rather amiable person. I have often profited from his blog (especially the more polemical posts – this guy is potent), and so I pass the Titus 2:1 award on to Andy Underhile at Contra Mundum.

2 thoughts on “The Titus 2:1 Award given to Theologia est doctrina Deo vivendi per Christum

  1. Dan Ledwith says:

    Congratulations my friend. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

